A New Year, 2013

It’s a new year! A chance for new beginnings and renewed hope! A chance to reach all your desired goals and to actually stick to those new year’s resolutions!

I wish I believed half of that crap I just wrote, but I don’t. I’m not one of those people who gets excited for a new year. Actually, I couldn’t be any less bothered when a new year comes along. Maybe I’m a pessimist or something. Maybe I’d be more excited if the problems of the previous year literally stayed in the past and we actually started the year on clean slate. But we don’t.

2012 wasn’t the greatest year for me. It wasn’t a year that had many highlights. In fact, the year genuinely had more low moments than it did high ones. Between not doing the exact subjects that I wanted to do at school and being in a car accident – the year was shit. Oh, then there’s that matter of getting dumped for no fucking reason. (That’s a story for another day).. Getting my driver’s license was my highlight for 2012, and I made a couple of friends along the way. Whether they’re for keeps, I don’t know *shrugs* Just thinking about 2012 gets me depressed. It was such a bad year for me. So bad that I hoped the Mayans were right about the world ending on 21 December. Alas, we’re still here.

Anyway, I’m trying something new this year. I’m trying to be positive about the upcoming year. Even though I’ve carried a lot of 2012’s problems into the new year, I’m searching for that silver lining. My uncle said that he had a good feeling about this year, my mom too. I’m hoping some of that good feeling rubs off on me, I really need it to. My birthday is on the 4th of January so at least I have something to look forward to early in the year.

*sigh*

Here’s to a new year – and me trying hard to make it the best that it can be.

*sigh*

Leave a Reply

