“The Faggot Debate”

First things first. I’m not trying to ruffle any conservative feathers by naming this post “The Faggot Debate”. Okay, maybe I am, just a little bit. Is it working?

I was debating with a few of my friends yesterday. It was more of an argument than a debate, but whatever. There were three of us. Two of the guys are big time homophobes. Me? I have no issues with gay people. The argument went on for a couple of hours until one of them said, “Listen, guys. Let’s stop talking about this. The faggot debate is one that will go on for ages!”
When I heard him say that, I figured that would be a grand title for my next blog post.

I won’t be discussing what my opinion on gay people is in this post. The fact that some people’s sexual preferences are different from my own doesn’t bother me. Let people live the way they choose to live. Each to their own, is what I say.

The main focus of this post is homophobic males. Homophobic males and their double standards, to be precise. The biggest problem I have with homophobic males – besides the fact that they’re homophobic – is that more often than not, their issues aren’t with gay people as a whole, but just with gay men. I hope that made sense.
Some of the homophobic males I’ve encountered only have problems with gay men. I am not in any way supporting homophobia here, but if you’re going to have issues with homosexuality, shouldn’t you have a problem with lesbians as well? Shouldn’t you feel the same level of resentment when you see a lesbian couple that you feel when you see a gay couple? Apparently not. Because some of these homophobic men don’t seem to have any kind of problem with lesbians. In fact, seeing two women going at it is a fantasy for some of these guys. It’s something that turns them on, something they would love to see.
I asked the two guys I was debating with how they felt about lesbians, and they said they didn’t have a problem with lesbian couples. In fact, a sexy lesbian couple is cool in their eyes. Huh? Really?! Listen, I don’t like homophobic people as it is, but it bugs me even more when they’re offended by homosexuality only when it suits them.

Again, I’m not for homophobia. I just felt the need to address this issue of men fantasising about one kind of homosexuality, and then having a complete hatred for another. It boggles the mind.

One thought on ““The Faggot Debate”

Leave a comment