On This Sunday…

This picture has nothing to do with this post, it just looked really cool!

Nothing interesting ever happens on Sundays. Well, not in my world. Sundays are my relaxation days. My do-nothing-for-as-long-as-possible days. Sunday is that sad, sad day before Monday. Yet on one Sunday, something interesting happened. Something that really got me thinking.

I was driving to the store to buy a few things. On the same street as the store that I was headed to, is a church. Judging by the few people that were leaving the church, it looked like the church service had been over for a while. As I was driving down this short stretch of road, I noticed an elderly man. He was walking a fair distance ahead of me. The church folks were much closer to him than I was. Then, literally in the blink of an eye, the old man was on the ground. He tripped and had fallen face first on the tar road.
That single event caught me off guard, but it was what happened after the old man had fallen that really left me shocked and had me speechless.

The church folk that I’d seen leaving the church a few seconds earlier walked past the man. They watched him fall, they stood there for a few seconds and then continued walking like nothing had happened. These “God fearing” men and women had done nothing to help this man. They also had children with them. These children watched an old man fall, then watched their parents do nothing.

Eventually I pulled up next to the old man who was still trying to get himself up. I got out of the car and helped him to his feet. As I was helping him up, I noticed that he was bleeding. I don’t know anything about first-aid, but I did what I could to help stop the bleeding. I also noticed that this man only had one functioning eye.
Standing there with this man, I felt my heart begin to sink. I don’t remember ever feeling that way in my life before. I don’t even know what to call that feeling.
I offered him a lift and sat him in the back seat of the car. He spoke English while directing me to his home, I was quite surprised by that. The journey to his house took 30 minutes. 30 minutes by car, you guys! Imagine how long it would’ve taken him to get there on foot. Anyway, I digress…
I dropped him off at his place and made my way home.
My emotions were all messed up while I was in the car. It was a surreal experience for me. Something that I wasn’t prepared for emotionally. I went from this unknown feeling, to being sad, to being angry. Sad because of what I’d just gone through with this man. Angry because of those people that had left him there.

It really angered me. The fact that one human being would let his fellow man suffer like that. The fact that they’d just left a place of worship that they value so much and then turned around and did something so inhumane. Where were these Christian morals and values that people are always talking about? The same values that some believers say make them better than non-believers?

I’ve taken a lot of flack for being Atheist. I’ve even had my morals and values questioned by believers. If anything, this event proved to me that my moral compass is functioning properly and that believing in God doesn’t necessarily make you a good person. And that’s the problem. Some people think believing in God and going to church every Sunday makes them good people. That isn’t the case. I’ve had so many experiences with people who go around preaching the word of God, and then do something that is the exact opposite of what they’ve just preached.

Anyway, I’m tired now. Let me get myself and my clear conscience to sleep. Peace.

Leave a Reply

