Travelling Man

“…I’m a travellin’ man. Moving through places, space and time…”

No, not really. I’m not a travelling man. I’m just quoting a line from DJ Honda & Mos Def’s 1998 hit, “Travellin’ Man”

I wish I was a travelling man though. I really do. I’m one of those people who’d like to travel and experience new places, but my laziness and my love of being a couch potato outweighs my desire to see the world.

I’ve had countless opportunities to go down to Durban this year. Each time an opportunity to go presented itself, I’d always decline in favour of sitting at home and doing nothing the whole weekend. The recent break-in attempt gave me an extra excuse not to go: I wanted to stay home and watch the house to make sure no one broke in and what not.

Last week I had another opportunity to go to Durban and I thought fuck it, let me go down to the coast and forget about the stress that Joburg brings me for a few days. Going down there was a great decision. I got to relax a bit and while I was there, I had some of the best sleep I’ve had in weeks.

I have been to KZN countless times (my family is from Natal), but believe it or not, this was actually my first time going to Durban. I know, I know. Shame on me! The drive there was a long and tedious one. The fact that we left at night made it feel even longer.

When we finally got to Durban, I was like a wide-eyed kid. Looking at any and everything that we drove past. It was weird at first ’cause we didn’t head straight to “TV Durban”. You know, the Durban with the beach, the sea, hotels and a bunch of rickshaws. Instead we headed to a little town that really felt like it was in the middle of nowhere. Cows and goats roaming around, unpaved roads, hills and large spaces of open land. “Where the fuck is my TV Durban?!” I asked myself. Even while we were in this little dorpie (I genuinely don’t remember the name of the place), I could feel that something was different in this part of the country. People were laid back here. Don’t even get me started on the great weather.

We eventually made our way to TV Durban. It was great, man. It really was. Great weather, great hotel room, great ocean view, great EVERYTHING! It was everything I’d built it up to be in my head. Except for the Durban CBD. It reminded me of the Joburg CBD. Basically, it was trash.

I went to the beach, scoped Moses Mabhida, sat for hours just taking all this awesomeness in and got some decent shut-eye. That place made me so happy I even enjoyed the 7 hour long drive back home.

I love Joburg, but I think I want to move to the coast now.

Leave a Reply

