The Moment I Realised That I’m Ted Mosby

You know how most people think they’re similar to a character from their favourite movie or television series? I’m not one of those people. Well, I didn’t think I was. Until a conversation I had with a friend last week. According to him, I’m Ted Mosby from “How I Met Your Mother”. I’m just going to assume the three people who’ll read this post know who Ted Mosby is and spare myself the effort of jotting down Ted’s bio. (I’m really lazy)

How did my friend get to this conclusion, you ask? It’s a long story, but I’ll try to make it as short as possible (because I’m lazy). A couple of weeks ago he called me, asking me to help him plan something because, according to him, I am a “hopeless romantic”. I am, I am. So what did he want me to help him plan? He’s been with this girl for about four years now and he wanted to propose to her. I don’t know when I became the guy to talk to about proposals, but yeah.

Since I love love and these two really are the only reference I have of what a proper, annoyingly perfect relationship (that I too long for) is, I agreed to help. After all, they’re my Marshall and Lily (that is another How I Met Your Mother reference this blog post could’ve easily done without) and nothing would make me happier than playing a part in their first step towards a life together. I can blog about this now because the proposal happened last week Saturday. Without a hitch, might I add. There were close friends, lots of tears and, most importantly, a yes at the end of it all. It would’ve been awkward if she’d said no, huh? Anyway, I digress.

In the week leading up to the big proposal, my friend and I met up a few times to discuss how this whole proposal would go down. I didn’t know what a perfectionist he was until last week. Anyway, during our various meetings, we inevitably ended up discussing my love life (or lack thereof). So I’m telling him about where I’m at – how there’s this one girl I really, really like (a lot) and how I was planning on doing something that, depending on how you look at it, is really romantic or really stupid to show her how serious I am about her. Maybe I’ll blog about this gesture one day, maybe. After listening to me go on about this girl for a few minutes, my friend’s only response was “You think you’re Ted Mosby, huh?”

We laughed and joked about it, but the more I thought about it, the more I realised that it might be true. I got home and binge-watched an entire season of How I Met Your Mother. For 24 episodes, I watched Ted Mosby do some amazing things in the name of love. I watched him perform some of the most amazing & random romantic gestures that would’ve made even the most hardened criminal go “ncawww”. I watched and listened to him make heartfelt confessions of love and countless speeches about how, despite numerous failed relationships, he still believed in love and believed that he’d one day find “the one”. Each time he pulled off some grand romantic gesture or he delivered an emotion-ridden speech about how crazy, irrational and amazing love is – I asked myself “Would I ever do that?” More often than not, my answer was yes. That was the moment I realised that I’m Ted Mosby.

Maybe it’s a bit ridiculous (and silly) that my friend thinks I’m Ted Mosby. Maybe it’s even more ridiculous that I think he might be right. I really shouldn’t be looking to TV shows and characters for signals & clues on love, but sometimes the experiences of these characters are so similar to real-life that you can’t help but get lost in these characters’ stories. What’s that saying about life imitating art? Or art imitating life? Lol whatever, you get the point I’m trying to make.

My thing is, is it such a bad thing that my hopes and dreams for this love thing run so deep? Is it wrong that I want so badly to make a connection with someone who I hope will be “the one”? I don’t think so. I don’t mind being compared to Ted Mosby. I did initially, but I don’t anymore. If the reason I’m being compared to this fictional character is because of my unflinchingly romantic heart, then so be it. Like Ted, I will continue my not-so-relentless search for that special person who’ll make me feel like all the heartache that came before her was, in some weird way, worth it.

I feel like I should end this post with a really cheesy Ted Mosby quote. Lol relax, I won’t.

Leave a Reply

