I’m sorry, Frank Ocean.

“When you’re happy, you enjoy the music. But when you’re sad, you understand the lyrics.” – Frank Ocean

I like Frank Ocean and I like his music too, but whenever I read that quote, all I think to myself is “No, fuck you, Frank!” I think “Fuck Frank!” because I love shouting profanities and, for me, I always understand the lyrics. Whether I’m happy or sad, I get it. Basically, for the longest time, I thought that quote was absolute rubbish.

I feel like I should apologise to Frank Ocean now because I think I might have been wrong. Yes, this is one of those rare occasions where I admit to being wrong. Screengrab this paragraph if you must.

What changed my view on this Frank Ocean quote? Well, at the height of my unhappiness a few months ago (I say that like I’m happy now. Believe me, I’m anything but), I decided to give Sam Smith’s “In The Lonely Hour” album a listen. I am a sucker for punishment, and what better way was there to heighten my misery than by listening to an album that people described as “heart-wrenching” and “tear-jerking”? So I listened to the album, obsessed over certain songs for a while and then I finally settled on what my favourite song on the album is. “Make It To Me”– yeah, that’s my favourite track off the album. I heard this song and I immediately fell in love with it. Give it a listen.

As with most times when I discover an absolutely awesome bit of music, I felt I had to tell anyone who would listen to me about this song. While I was driving with a friend, I played this song. Before playing it, I told my friend, “Brace yourself, this might be the most depressing song you’ll hear all year.” We listened to the song and when it ended, my friend turned to me and said, “It’s a really beautiful song, but there’s nothing depressing about it.”

That is the moment I realised that the Frank Ocean quote might have some truth to it.

You see, the friend in question has been in a relationship for a while now. And me? Well, I’m as single as single can get. It sucks when you’re single, but you know who you want. When you think you’ve met the person you want to grow with. The person who you believe can make you as happy as you can make them. The person who, despite everything you tell your heart not to do, you think you could fall in love with.

So when I listen to “Make It To Me” and I hear the chorus – “You’re the one designed for me. A distant stranger that I will complete. I know you’re out there, we’re meant to be. So keep your head up and make it to me” – I feel a sense of longing. I know who the one I think is made for me is. I know she exists, and I hope that we’ll eventually end up together. That she’ll make it to me. My friend on the other hand, when she hears this song and its chorus, she doesn’t feel a sense of longing. She’s found the one that she thinks is made for her. He made it to her and they’re together now.

My little moment in the car with my friend showed me that we hear music differently depending on where we’re at in life. I heard this song and I got sad because I know the one who I think is made for me exists, but she hasn’t found her way to me. I listen to this song and I do a whole lot of introspection and reflection. My friend heard it and she smiled. She is happy because she’s found her guy – the person she believes she’ll spend a lifetime with.

That’s it. That is my strange argument and reasoning for why that Frank Ocean quote rings true. Also, I’m sorry, Frank Ocean. You might have been right and I might have been wrong.

Lol peace & love, you guys.

Leave a Reply

